How much does medical marijuana cost in VA, anyway?
The cost of medical marijuana in VA can vary depending on a number of factors, including the type of product, the amount purchased, and the dispensary. However, patients can expect to pay anywhere from $20 and $80 for an eighth of medical marijuana flower.
If you’re a first-time patient, you may be wondering what an “eighth” is. An eighth is one of the most common ways to purchase marijuana, and it refers to an eighth of an ounce (28 grams) of cannabis, which comes to 3.5 grams of flower.
Keep reading to learn more about how much medical marijuana costs in Virginia.
Looking for a straightforward way to get your medical marijuana card in Virginia? CannabisRxHealth is ready to help!
Get started now and obtain your recommendation for an MMJ card from one of our Board-certified physicians.
Virginia Medical Cannabis Pricing
One former school teacher told Marijuana Moment, "A month's supply costs me between $600 and $700 – and that's not covered by insurance." However, the cost of the product itself isn't the only cost to consider.
At this point, the price of cannabis products in Virginia is quite high. Since there's only a small number of patients, the costs remain high. As more patients come into the space, companies will begin having more efficient economies of scale, which will drive the price down.
High prices are normal to observe when retail sales begin. However, limited points of access and a small patient population have kept prices elevated.
To compare the price differences, Columbia Care's D.C.-based dispensary is selling 3.5 grams of medical cannabis for $35 while the company charges $65 for the same weight for Virginia patients.
Medical Marijuana Cost FAQ
How much does a medical marijuana card cost in Virginia?
Besides having a diagnosable condition, patients have to show they're a Virginia resident with a valid state ID card or driver's license. To get a medical marijuana card in Virginia, our price is set at $199.
How much can you buy at a dispensary in VA?
The Virginia Cannabis Control Authority hasn't enacted purchase limits at the dispensaries yet. However, Virginia's medical marijuana law permits possession of up a 90-day supply worth of cannabis products. This equals 4 ounces of cannabis flower every 30 days.
Can you go to a dispensary in Virginia without a card?
At this point, only registered medical marijuana patients and their designated caregivers can enter a dispensary. It's possible that people will not be allowed to enter a dispensary without a card in Virginia until 2024. Even though some lawmakers are working to allow legal recreational marijuana sales, they can't agree on how to make these legal sales happen.
What should I bring to the dispensary?
It's now more important than ever to pre-register with dispensaries you plan to frequent. This will lessen patient wait times. But also, you should bring the following to streamline the process:
- A valid government-issued ID card
- Medical cannabis card issued by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy/registration number emailed to you by the Board of Pharmacy
- A printed copy of your unexpired written certification
Keep in mind, the only people allowed to enter the dispensaries are patients and registered agents. Aids, children, and spouses cannot come into the dispensaries unless they've registered.
Closing on How Much Medical Marijuana Costs in VA
So, medical marijuana is quite expensive in Virginia at the moment. However, this is to be expected with a new industry. Prices are sure to drop as the industry grows, so don't worry!
If you have any questions about getting your medical marijuana card in Virginia, feel free to contact us today.