How to Get a Medical Marijuana Prescription From a Texas Doctor Today

Many states have started encouraging the use of marijuana for the treatment of medical conditions. Texas, over the past few years, has made some efforts towards making medical cannabis prescriptions available. Although still strictly limited, medical cannabis has been prescribed for patients with lots of positive results. Within the State of Texas, you need a physician's prescription to purchase medical cannabis legally. While cannabis is strictly not available without a prescription, we can still guide you on how best to get the much-needed approval. At CannabisRxHealth, we understand the system and have helped thousands of native Texas receive the help they need despite the very strict procedures involved.

Get Started

Click HERE to GET STARTED or CHAT WITH LIVE SUPPORT BELOW!

What to Expect.

Your Medical Cannabis Prescription in Texas

Consultation

CannabisRxHealth doctors consult and review your medical information

Certification

CannabisRxHealth issues your medical cannabis certification

Registration

CannabisRxHealth can guide you on state registration

Border line

Why We Are Different.

We Listen

We lead with compassion. We will take the time to listen to you.

Guided Assistance

We give you the certification and can guide you in registering with the state.

Convenient Scheduling

We have same day, next day and weekend available.

Affordable & Accessible

Because we believe that cost should not be a barrier to services.

Free Visit

If at the end of the visit you are not approved for a certification you are refunded 100%.

Licensed Providers

Consultations by licensed and state-registered providers with experience.

Border line

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Prescription in Texas

Get certified to receive your Medical Cannabis Prescription from CannabisRxHealth today if 24 years of age or older. If 21 to 23 please provide written support from your provider.

$199 - Consultation, Certification, Education, Registration Guidance and Email Support

$159 - Discounted Price for Veteran Families, Students, SSDI and Medicaid recipients

Get Started

Leaf Icon
$199
Consultation, Certification, Education, Registration
$159
Card Discount
for Veteran Families, Students, SSDI and Medical recipients

Your Medical Cannabis Prescription in Texas

Eligible Texans have access to medical marijuana through the State’s compassionate use program (CUP). Only Texans with certain medical conditions can qualify for the procedure.

Are you wondering, “How to get a medical marijuana prescription?” You’ll be happy to learn the process couldn’t be simpler, especially when you work with a team of professionals. We aim to make the process as efficient and painless as possible.

With that in mind, we’ve created this guide to help you further understand how the process works. 


Qualifying

According to Texas state laws, you can only qualify for the approved medical cannabis prescription if you are indeed a patient suffering from certain medical conditions.

Texas’s Compassionate Use Program (CUP) allows approved physicians to prescribe low tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) cannabis for medical purposes only. 

Low-THC contains a maximum of 0.5 % by weight of tetrahydrocannabinol. Medical use of cannabis in Texas is limited to swallowing only.  Smoking it is strictly prohibited.

The medical conditions that qualify a patient from receiving a prescription include:

  • Epilepsy 
  • Seizure disorders 
  • Multiple sclerosis 
  • Spasticity 
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis 
  • Autism 
  • Terminal cancer 
  • An incurable neurodegenerative disease

Most patients who suffer from any of these conditions can get a prescription for low-THC marijuana.


Getting Medical Cannabis in Texas.

There are no age restrictions to accessing medical marijuana in Texas. However, the conditions are strictly based on an approved physician's prescription.

The physician will enter the prescription in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT), an online portal accessible to both approved physicians and dispensaries.

The patient, legal guardian or caregiver can then go to any licensed dispensary to retrieve the prescription. 

However, the patient or legal guardian will need to provide some information before retrieving the prescription. They are:

  • An ID 
  • The patient's last name
  • The patient's date of birth,
  • The last five digits of their Social Security Number. 

For a patient to qualify, for Low-THC cannabis, the patient must be a permanent resident of Texas and must have one of the approved medical conditions.

Also, only a CUP-registered physician can approve medical cannabis.

You need to obtain a written certification from a CUP-registered medical professional in Texas. Marijuana doctors can help you with the process.

At CannabisRxHealth, we don’t believe cost should be a barrier to medical treatment. As such, we offer an affordable service designed to help you meet the state’s requirements.


Everything You Need to Know About Medical Marijuana in Texas

Like in most states where cannabis is only legal for medical reasons, marijuana laws in Texas are very strict. There have been laws passed to decriminalise marijuana for medical purposes since 2015. In 2019, the penalties for the possession of marijuana was also reduced.

Consumers must be aware of how medical marijuana in Texas works to avoid falling foul of the law.

However, so far, only low-THC marijuana prescription for strictly medical purposes is approved by physicians. Dispensaries also can only sell medical cannabis in the form of cannabidiol oil. Flowers and other concentrates are not available.

General Overview

The first law to legalize cannabis for medicinal purposes came into effect in 2013, but the program itself wouldn’t reach the implementation stage until 2015 when its limited use for medical purposes was approved

Medical marijuana has improved the lives of thousands of Texans who suffer from chronic pain and crippling medical conditions daily.

Support for decriminalization is still low in Texas, being one of the most conservative states in America, although progress is being made in that regard.


Qualifying Conditions

To get access to medical marijuana in Texas, only a CUP-registered physician can give you a prescription. The prescription is entered into an online system known as the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas CURT, which can then be retrieved at an approved dispensary that can read the prescription.

An ID to identify the patient must be provided by the caregiver or the patient.

According to the Harvard Medical School, cannabis is primarily used for pain relief. It should come as no surprise that the majority of Texas medical cannabis users suffer from chronic pain.

There’s a long list of different qualifying conditions, but you can be confident your condition qualifies if you regularly suffer from symptoms like pain, seizures, or nausea.

 

What can I get with my prescription in Texas?

In Texas, only low-THC marijuana is available for medical purposes. It is also not available for smoking.

Cannabis in Texas is illegal for recreational use. 

It’s also important to mention that unlike in other states, a medical marijuana prescription doesn’t give you the right to cultivate marijuana. Cultivation remains strictly illegal for ordinary citizens, regardless of whether they have a prescription


Possession Limits

Possession of up to two ounces of cannabis is a class B misdemeanor in Texas and is punishable by up to 180 days in prison, a fine of up to $2000, and the suspension of one's driver's license.

However, several municipalities in Texas have greatly reduced the penalties for possession of cannabis.


Caregiver Laws

There are no caregiver Laws in Texas about Medical marijuana. This is because the prescription is very strict. With an ID of the patient and a supply of required information, the caregiver or guardian can approach the approved dispensary to retrieve the prescription.

Although there is no age limit for prescriptions, minor patients need a legal guardian to retrieve the prescription.

Texas low-THC marijuana FAQ

The situation regarding Texas medical cannabis is very strict. If you’re looking for answers, here are some of the most common questions patients tend to have.


Q. Does Texas provide medical marijuana cards?

A. Texas does not provide medical marijuana cards. Medical marijuana is strictly controlled by registered physicians who only write prescriptions.


Q. How long does my marijuana prescription stay valid?

A. The prescription is for every treatment. Prescription is provided as long as treatment is required. This is determined by the physician


Q. Is medical cannabis sold in Texas?

A. Medical cannabis is not sold without a prescription by approved physicians. It is only available in low concentration ( 0.5% by weight) at approved dispensaries.


Q. How much does it cost to get certified with CannabisRxHealth?

A. The initial consultation costs just $199 and includes everything you need to get certified. We also offer discounts on renewals of just $159.


Q. Will insurance cover the cost of my visit?

A. Health insurance providers are not required to cover costs relating to medical marijuana. It all depends on your policy.


Q. What should I bring to my appointment with CannabisRxHealth?

A. Proof of state residence and proof of your medical condition. For the latter, this can be your medical records, proof of disability, or the bottles of your prescription medication.


Q. How long do appointments last?

A. Most appointments take no longer than 15 minutes. However, this is average, and you shouldn’t feel pressured to rush through your appointment. Our medical professionals are always willing to stay and answer any questions you might have.


Q. What if my application is denied?

A. We will refund your application fee in full because we don’t believe in putting up barriers to healthcare.



Benefits of Medical marijuana

There has been a wave of research into the medical benefits of marijuana. The results have been stunning, which is why it should come as no surprise that cannabidiol (CBD) has been legalized in the vast majority of states.

Some of the scientifically proven benefits of medical marijuana include:

1. Ability to treat pain

2. Prevents seizures

3. Treats nausea

4. Improves appetite

5. Fights the symptoms of PTSD

It’s highly likely that this list will continue to grow as more and more research is conducted into the benefits of the cannabis plant.

All of these benefits come without the negative effects of prescription opioids, including dependency, the potential for overdose, and nausea.

Healthcare is expensive, even for those in the most urgent need. CannabisRxHealth believes in breaking down barriers to healthcare. That’s why we offer the lowest consultations in the region, starting at just $199. Plus, if you don’t get approved for medical marijuana, we’ll refund the cost of your visit.

Our medical professionals provide our patients with all the information they need to make informed choices about their health. You’re free to ask any questions you might have.



What To Expect.

Consultation

CannabisRxHealth doctors consult and review your medical information

Certification

CannabisRxHealth issues your medical cannabis certification

Registration

CannabisRxHealth can guide you on state registration

What people say about us

Quotation
Doctor is beyond helpful. I highly recommend this place to anyone interested in finding out if they qualify without worrying if you have to pay if you don’t qualify. I’m very pleased with the service and attention.
Gabriel V.
Check out our google reviews
The Dr. Was very straightforward, understanding and seemed ho early interested in my story about my life. Definitely recommend. The process was easier than I had thought.
James D.
Check out our google reviews
The doctor was so kind and compassionate. I so appreciated how deeply knowledgeable she was and the time she took to fully understand my condition.
Laurie N.
Check out our google reviews
Curved Border