What is the law in Louisiana about marijuana? And what should you expect as you seek out your medical marijuana access?
There's a lot of confusion around the law in Louisiana when it comes to marijuana. Because of this, many people are unsure as to what is and isn't legal in the world of cannabis.
In this post, we'll explore the current state of marijuana laws in Louisiana. We'll also discuss what can happen if you're caught possessing or using marijuana in the state illegally. Keep reading for more information on Louisiana marijuana law now!
Looking for medical marijuana access in Louisiana? CannabisRxHealth is ready to help!
Contact us now to take the first step in obtaining your medical marijuana card by scheduling your consultation. Our registered physicians are ready to recommend MMJ for you today.
Louisiana Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2015, Louisiana enacted a law that allowed for the use of medical marijuana under certain circumstances. The law states that people with certain debilitating medical conditions can use cannabis for symptom relief if they have a doctor's recommendation.
The following conditions are listed in the law as qualifying for medical marijuana use:
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Crohn's disease
- Muscular dystrophy
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson's disease
- Severe muscle spasms
- Pain that is not adequately managed by traditional medical treatments
- Autism spectrum disorders
The law also allows for other conditions to be approved for medical marijuana use on a case-by-case basis if the doctor believes that the patient could benefit from cannabis treatment.
The state expanded its medical marijuana program in 2020 after it passed a bill that lets physicians recommend medical cannabis to patients for debilitating conditions that they believe would benefit from it.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana in Louisiana
If you want to get a medical marijuana card in Louisiana, you'll first need to get a doctor's recommendation. You can either have a qualifying condition or be seeking treatment for a condition that could potentially benefit from medical cannabis.
Once the doctor gives you a written recommendation, your name can be added to the state's medical marijuana registry. You'll then be able to purchase cannabis from one of the state-licensed dispensaries.
The recommendations are valid for one year and can be renewed. As a patient, you are allowed to possess up to a 30-day supply of medical cannabis products.
Cannabis Possession Laws in Louisiana
Possessing small amounts of marijuana for personal use is a criminal offense in Louisiana. The penalties depend on the amount of cannabis you are caught with.
For first-time offenders, possessing up to 14 grams of marijuana is punishable by a fine of up to $100.
Possessing between 14 grams and 2.5 pounds is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Possessing between 2.5 and 60 pounds is punishable by two to five years in jail and a fine of up to $30,000.
Possessing between 60 and 2000 pounds is punishable by 5- 30 years in jail and a fine of up to $100,000.
Possessing between 2000 to less than 10,000 pounds is punishable by 10-40 years in jail and a fine of up to $400,000.
Possessing 10,000 pounds or more is punishable by 25- 40 years in jail and a fine of up to $1,000,000.
These are only the penalties for possession. If you're caught distributing or cultivating marijuana, you'll face even more severe consequences for any amount, especially if you're distributing to a minor.
What Is the Law in Louisiana About Marijuana FAQ
Is marijuana use legal in Louisiana?
Cannabis is legal in Louisiana only for medicinal purposes. Furthermore, possession of 14 grams or less is decriminalized and punishable by a fine of no more than $100.
What is the penalty for growing marijuana in Louisiana?
The penalties for growing marijuana in Louisiana for first-time offenders are punishable by imprisonment for up to 45 years and a fine of up to $100,000. The subsequent offenses are punishable by imprisonment for up to 90 years and a fine that could go up to $200,000.
Are marijuana seeds illegal in Louisiana?
Home cultivation is forbidden under Louisiana marijuana legislation. You may acquire seeds as long as you don't germinate them. The possession of souvenir seeds is allowed.
Closing on The Law in Louisiana About Marijuana
Now that you know the law, you can make an informed decision on whether or not to use marijuana in Louisiana. Make sure to schedule a consultation with one of our doctors first to get your recommendation if you want to use cannabis for medicinal purposes.
Be sure to follow the possession guidelines to avoid any potential penalties. Thanks for reading!