How old do you have to obtain a Louisiana medical marijuana card? While no age limit is in the law, some rules are in place.
Although marijuana is legal in Louisiana, there are several concerns about who can use it and how old you must be to do so. This blog post will clarify some of those issues and help you better understand Louisiana's laws on marijuana.
Looking for medical marijuana access in Louisiana? CannabisRxHealth is ready to help!
Contact us now to take the first step in obtaining your medical marijuana card by scheduling your consultation. Our registered physicians are ready to recommend MMJ for you today.
Louisiana Medical Marijuana Law 2022
There is no age limit in the law, however, patients who are minors must have a parent or legal guardian as their primary caregiver. In order to be a legal guardian, the person must be over 21 years old and able to provide written consent to the minor's use of medical marijuana.
The law also states that medical marijuana must be prescribed by a licensed physician. The doctor must determine that the patient suffers from a medical condition and that the use of marijuana is likely to alleviate the symptoms of that condition.
How Do You Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Louisiana?
In order to obtain medical marijuana in Louisiana, you must first acquire a recommendation from a licensed physician. Keep in mind, the state of Louisiana does not provide medical marijuana identification cards.
Once you have the doctor's recommendation, your name can then be added to the state's medical marijuana patient registry. You will be able to purchase medical marijuana from one of the state-licensed dispensaries.
What Are the Conditions That Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Louisiana?
The qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Louisiana include but aren't limited to cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, cachexia or wasting syndrome, seizure disorders, post traumatic stress disorder, multiple sclerosis, Crohn's disease, Parkinson's disease, muscular dystrophy, autism, epilepsy, intractable pain, and severe muscle spasms.
If you don't have a qualifying condition, your doctor can still recommend medical marijuana if he or she feels that your ailments would respond favorably to its use. Ultimately, this allows for flexibility in regards to why a doctor is able to recommend medical cannabis as a treatment.
How Old Do You Have to Be for Medical Marijuana Louisiana FAQ
Who can grow marijuana in Louisiana?
Individuals are not allowed to produce marijuana at home or in any other place under the law. Only Louisiana State University Agricultural Center and Southern University Agricultural Center have a license to produce and cultivate medical marijuana in LA, according to the regulations.
What is the penalty for growing marijuana in Louisiana?
Marijuana distribution or cultivation is punishable by a fine of $50,000 and 5-30 years in jail. 10-60 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000 are penalties for future offenses. Any drug offense convictions whether they took place anywhere else are prior offenses.
Can you grow marijuana for personal use in Louisiana?
No, it is not allowed to grow marijuana for personal or medical use. Only Louisiana State University Agricultural Center and Southern University Agricultural Center have a license to produce and cultivate medical marijuana in LA.
Is there a limit on how much medical marijuana you can possess in Louisiana?
Yes, patients and their caregivers are allowed to possess up to a 30-day supply of medical marijuana.
Closing on How Old Do You Have to Be for Medical Marijuana Louisiana
As you can see, there are some strict laws in place regarding medical marijuana in Louisiana. However, if you are a minor suffering from a debilitating medical condition, you may still be able to obtain the treatment you need with the help of a parent or legal guardian.
If you have any questions about medical marijuana accessibility in Louisiana, feel free to reach out at any time. We're always happy to help!